Conscious is Not Enough 2011

by Guante

  • Immediate download of 14-track album in your choice of high-quality MP3, FLAC, or just about any other format you could possibly desire.




Tru Ruts/Speakeasy Records presents the updated, re-recorded mixtape from Midwest hip hop artist, two-time National Poetry Slam champion and activist Guante, “ Conscious is Not Enough 2011.” Featuring original production from the likes of Big Cats! (Sage Francis, the Tribe), DJ Pain 1 (Young Jeezy, Chuck D), Calvin Valentine (Planet Asia, Phil da Agony) and others, plus a few jacked beats (including the crowd-favorite “ Your Boyfriend’ s a Republican” performed over the instrumental to Amy Winehouse’ s “ You Know I’ m No Good” ), the mixtape is tied together by Guante’ s relentless wit, political insight, technical virtuosity and pure, uncut passion for the subject matter. It’ s also proof positive that political hip hop can have a sense of humor, and that smart rappers can also be entertaining.

"Giving you something to think about while nodding your head to his nimble, casual flow, Guante could very well follow Atmosphere and P.O.S. in the long line of outstanding rappers to break out from the Midwest." --CMJ Artist Spotlight

“ …intelligent, political hip hop that mercifully doesn't come off as preachy or self- righteous. It's sobering, demanding your attention like a car crash, yet emotional and alarmingly intimate at times." --City Pages


released 29 March 2011


1. Thought Criminals (Sneak Chamber Remix) w/ See More Perspective
2. Conscious is Not Enough (Get Down Remix)
3. Orwell Oh Well (prod. DJ Pain 1)
4. The Hero (prod. Big Cats!)
5. Just a Song w/ Claire Taubenhaus
6. Your Boyfriend’ s a Republican (You Know I’ m No Good Remix)
7. Ink (Calvin Valentine Remix) w/ DJ Name of Wide Eyes
8. Cannonball Boombox (prod. See More Perspective) w/ See More Perspective
9. I’ m Not a Hater; I Just Don’ t Like You (prod. Aeon Grey)
10. Greed (prod. Big Cats!)
11. Strong Weak Ties (Beatbox by See More Perspective)
12. Bat Country Gunmen (Made You Look Remix) w/ Chantz
13. The Low Road (words by Marge Piercy)
14. Outro (prod. Calvin Valentine)

Tracks 1, 2, 6-9, 11-14 recorded by See More Perspective
at Luv 'N' Dedication Studio
Tracks 4, 5, 10 recorded by Big Cats! at Waterbury Studio
Track 3 recorded by Ben Durrant at Crazy Beast Studio

Arranged by See More Perspective
Cover Design by Nickolas Davis:
Executive produced by e.g. bailey + Sha Cage

www.truruts. •

Brought to you by Tru Ruts Endeavors: Harvesting the Tree of Life All Songs Copyright © 2010 Tru Ruts Endeavors, Inc. All songs published by Verbal Reparations Music (ASCAP). All Rights Reserved. Used by Permission. International Copyright Secured.

© 2010 Tru Ruts | Speakeasy Records, P.O. Box 21305, Minneapolis, MN 55421. All Rights Reserved. Unauthorized duplication is a violation of applicable laws.

"Speakeasy Records" "Tru Ruts | Speakeasy Records" "Tru Ruts Endeavors" "Oni Management", Speakeasy Records Logo, Tru Ruts Logo are trademarks of Tru Ruts Endeavors.



all rights reserved


feeds for this album, this artist